Harissa Chicken

Yum!

Having invested in some harissa paste and excited about the possibility of adding something new to my repertoire of regular recipes, I decided to go about making harissa chicken and couscous. I had it in a restaurant a few months ago and it was delicious (also a tiny portion – so tiny that me and the best friend ended up going to McDonald’s afterwards to fill up but we won’t talk about that…) so I figured I’d give it a go.

A recipe I looked at online suggested mixing the harissa paste with lemon juice to loosen it up and not have to add more oil. Since I didn’t have lemon juice but always try to have lime juice on hand (due to my love of Mexican food – more on that later!) I figured that should work the same. I’d probably use a little less than the approx 2 1/2 tbsp I used this time since the lime was a little overpowering and it’s a good job that lime flavours of all kinds are my favourites – when I was a kid I’d always have the green sweeties…

Anyway, I mixed about 2 1/2 tbsp lime juice with 2 tsp of harissa paste and then spread it liberally over the chicken which was then grilled with some cherry tomatoes. While that was cooking, I made up couscous to packet instructions, using chicken stock (from a Knorr Stockpot) in place of plain water. It’s the first time I’ve ever made couscous and I made about four times too much, but heh, I’ll know for next time right?

All in all, it was really good and I had enough to take a huge portion to work the next day! I will say, that it was a little embarrassing to have the security guard come and ask if everything was ok because he could smell burning – nothing was burning or smoking so clearly he’d just never smelt harissa chicken cooking…!

Leave a Reply

